Wheat Protein

Hazard level: No known concerns Allergen: cereals containing gluten

What is Wheat Protein?

Concentrated protein isolated from wheat (also called seitan when cooked), used as a meat alternative. Contains gluten.

Is Wheat Protein safe?

Wheat Protein has no known health concerns in the amounts typically used in food.

Score impact: No penalty on the FoodsScan score (FoodsScan scores run 0–100, where 100 is best.)

Found in 19 of 12,863 analysed products in the FoodsScan database.

This is an EU declarable allergen (cereals containing gluten).

Advertisement

Also known as

Wheat Protein is also known as wheat protein — these all refer to the same ingredient.

wheat protein

Where Wheat Protein is typically found

Plant Based Foods And Beverages Meat Alternatives Breaded Products Meat Analogues Vegetarian Nuggets

Related additives

Salt (Sodium Chloride) wheat Natural Flavouring sunflower oil Water Sugar (Sucrose) Canola Oil (Rapeseed) Pea Protein potato starch Sodium Carbonates (Baking Soda) (E500) Gluten Oat Flour Rye Barley Spelt Oat Milk

Products containing Wheat Protein

← All ingredients